

DAC Members Present: Andy Cao, Bill Horwath, Celest Barretto Milligan, Carlene Bustamante, Deera Parker, Edgar Colon, Eileen Hairel, Janice Thomas, Jerome Vielman, Jessica Carter, Naomi Doyle-Madrid, Theresa Tran, Tish Ochoa, Toni Cervantes, Uche Ndefo, Zaire Juarez, Allure Anoma, Amy Maddux, Celia Hartman Sims, Chanler Langham, Charles Stein, George Hittner, Heather Golden, Jeremy Harris, Kaitlyn Baldwin, Karen Duffy, Kennard Jones, Krysti Turnquest, Linda Flores Olson, Lucy Vevallos, Mac Walker, Marcos Rosales, Shayla Bowden, Tarence Rice, Anita Griffin, Bradley Wray, Clara Gerard, Daniel Santos, Dietra Ford-Robinson, Elixabeth Chapman, Gregory Thompson, Ijeoma Anugweje, Paula Ceaser, Roshunda Roberts-Jackson, Roxana Serrano, Sara Hall, Sarah Izquierdo, Stephanie Witherspoon, Stephen Wright, Taisha Garner

Staff Present: Kari Feinberg, Kerri Briggs, Jessica Morffi, Doris Delaney, Callahan Vertin, Darius Whitney, Mike Miles

Board Member Present: Janette Garza Lindner

## The meeting began at 5:03 pm.

Kerri Briggs, Chief of Staff, Houston ISD, provided a welcome and introduction.

- Reminder of meeting norms and the purpose of the DAC,
- Preview of the evening's goal: to review, ask questions of and provide feedback on the proposed District of Innovation (DOI) plan,
- The DAC members discussed an icebreaker question in small groups,
- A Padlet was shared to serve as a DAC meeting parking lot for all DAC meetings to enable sharing of questions and comments for future follow-up,
- The DAC co-chairs provided framing for the evening's conversation.

#### Overview from the DOI Committee.

Theresa Tran, Edgar Colon and Bill Horwath provided an overview of the committee's work and the DOI plan's goals:

- The DOI committee was appointed by the board to represent a diverse set of community perspectives.
- The committee engaged in ten meetings totaling 16-20 hours of committee deliberations, they also toured schools, met with staff, board members and community stakeholders to inform development of the plan.
- A student-centered focus informed all deliberations and resulting exemptions, the plan encompasses a districtwide approach.
- The plan includes statutory codes, rationale and benefits, research, an overview of other districts with the exemption and implementation guidance for each exemption.

#### Clarifying Questions on the District of Innovation Plan.

Superintendent Miles provided an overview of the plan and conducted a question-and-answer session with the committee for thirty minutes.

- Guiding questions for the Q+A session included:
  - What clarifying questions do you have about the exemptions included in the DOI plan draft?
  - What questions do you have about the implementation guidelines outlined?

### **Small Group Discussion.**

- The District of Innovation Committee (Lauren Fontaine, Uche Ndefo, Bill Horwath, Janette Garza Linder, Jessica Morffi, Edgar Colon, Theresa Tran) led in person and virtual small-group discussions to provide feedback on the DOI Plan. Each group was assigned and mixed with elected and appointed members.
- There was a notetaker and timer in each group.
- The group was also given a survey link to provide additional feedback to the DOI committee.
- Each small group member had up to two minutes to respond to each of the following questions:

- o In what ways does the District of Innovation plan support improving student outcomes? In what ways does the District of Innovation plan not support improving student outcomes?
- What refinements do you recommend to the District of Innovation plan?
- Each small group had the opportunity to share key themes from their discussions with the full group.

# Next Steps.

Kerri Briggs shared next steps with the DAC:

- The DOI Committee will post the plan publicly on Friday, 11/10.
- The DAC Committee will reconvene on Tuesday, 11/14. During this meeting:
- The DOI committee will provide an overview of the plan, process and changes from the feedback sessions,
- There will be a public comment session,
- The meeting will be live streamed on HISDtv,
- The DAC committee will vote upon the plan.

The meeting adjourned at 7:30 pm.